Liberty Hall

Live Events at Liberty Hall

Author Talk: Tony Horwitz

Thursday, May 23rd, 2019

All Ages // 6:00pm Doors // 7:00pm Show

Author Talk: Tony Horwitz
Author Talk: Tony Horwitz

Thursday, May 23rd, 2019

All Ages // 6:00pm Doors // 7:00pm Show

Presented by the Lawrence Public Library

The best-selling author of Confederates in the Attic returns to the South and the Civil War era for an epic adventure on the trail of America’s greatest landscape architect. The Raven Book Store will sell copies of Horwitz's book and a signing will follow his talk. Presented in partnership with Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area, Inc., the Watkins Museum of History, and the Raven Book Store.

Doors at 6 pm, event starts at 7 pm.

In the 1850s, the young Frederick Law Olmsted was adrift, a restless farmer and dreamer in search of a mission. He found it during an extraordinary journey, as an undercover correspondent in the South for the up-and-coming New York Times.

For the Connecticut Yankee, pen name “Yeoman,” the South was alien, often hostile territory. Yet Olmsted traveled for 14 months, by horseback, steamboat, and stagecoach, seeking dialogue and common ground. His vivid dispatches about the lives and beliefs of Southerners were revelatory for readers of his day, and Yeoman’s remarkable trek also reshaped the American landscape, as Olmsted sought to reform his own society by creating democratic spaces for the uplift of all. The result: Central Park and Olmsted’s career as America’s first and foremost landscape architect.

About the Author

Tony Horwitz rediscovers Yeoman Olmsted amidst the discord and polarization of our own time. Is America still one country? In search of answers, and his own adventures, Horwitz follows Olmsted’s tracks and often his mode of transport (including muleback): through Appalachia, down the Mississippi River, into bayou Louisiana, and across Texas to the contested Mexican borderland. Venturing far off beaten paths, Horwitz uncovers bracing vestiges and strange new mutations of the Cotton Kingdom. Horwitz’s intrepid and often hilarious journey through an outsized American landscape is a masterpiece in the tradition of Great Plains, Bad Land, and the author’s own classic, Confederates in the Attic.

From penguinrandomhouse.com.

In partnership with Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area, Inc. and the Watkins Museum of History.

Doors open 1 hour prior to showtime.

Event is in the Main Theater with General Admission balcony and floor seating. The top tier of the Main Theater floor is wheelchair accessible. Limited ADA Seating on Floor - please contact the Liberty Hall Box Office or a presenting partner if you have accessibility needs.

Please be advised that firearms or weapons of any kind are not permitted in Liberty Hall. All entrants to public events may be subject to wanding and/or pat-down and bag searches upon each entry to the facility. Please arrive early to ensure entry prior to event start time.

No outside food or drink. No backpacks or large bags/purses are allowed. Liberty Hall assumes no liability for any items left at the door. For a full list of prohibited items and more information on Liberty Hall policies, visit http://www.libertyhall.net/about